Work Can Be Fun!

101 Dalmatians

Last night, after the news, Nutda let me flip through the channels and we found a program we could both enjoy.  It was Walt Disney’s “101 Dalmatians” in Thai. Nutda loves cartoons and I love this movie.  For me, it was interesting to hear the dialog spoken in Thai.  I have to admit that Thai television has come a long way, both in terms of technology (which did not surprise me) and acting ability (which did).  I do remember watching – and this will date me – “Sugarfoot” reruns on Thai TV as a child, but, back then, there was no real effort to match the voice with the actor or actress performing the role on the screen. This time, I was delighted to find that the characters’ unique qualities were matched by the actors and actresses who read the Thai dialog. As you might guess, I could follow the general storyline, but there were still some pieces of dialog that I did not understand.  It was a great exercise for me and I enjoyed seeing the movie again. Afterward, Nutda and I talked about the need for more family-oriented movies that teach basic values through stories and how many of these values are shared in different cultures.

About ladypreacheratwork

For more information about me and my ministry in Thailand, please select the 'About' tab in the header above.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

