An Unexpected Challenge

The Sign in Front of McCormick Hospital

Studying the Thai language is not a physically demanding occupation.  Mentally demanding, yes.  But not physically demanding.  Since moving into our home here, I have been trying to determine the best way to fit some sort of physical activity into my day. After two surgeries on my left knee, I have been told to avoid high impact activities, but after two months of no physical activity at all (while we were living in hotels and guest houses), I really felt the need to do something.  Fortunately, the lane we live on makes a complete circle and the circumference of that circle is about a quarter of a mile. So, about two weeks ago, I began walking around that circle in the evening at dusk.  Within a short time, I was walking eight times around the circle in thirty minutes and it was a good workout. About a week later, I added thirty minutes in the morning as well. But to squeeze that in and still have time for a shower and breakfast before my class begins at 8 AM means rising with the sun.

The Emergency Room Staff at McCormick Hospital

It was only my fourth day of walking in the morning, when I was attacked by a dog. I have always loved dogs and have owned several.  I have never, ever, been attacked by one. The attack caught me off-guard and I was bitten in the leg. I did manage to escape without any other injuries and, returning home, I cleaned the wound and drove myself to McCormick Hospital, one of the hospitals established by early Presbyterian missionaries to Thailand.  The emergency room was not crowded at 6:30 AM and the staff, pictured here, took great care of me. They dressed my wound, gave me some antibiotics and some medication for pain, administered a tetanus shot, and started me on my series of injections for rabies, since I have no idea whose dog attacked me or how to find the dog again. The bad news is that I now have a reluctance to venture out alone without a stick in my hand to fend off any future attacks.  The good news is that my emergency room visit, my treatment that day, and all of my medication cost about $50.  My health insurance folks will be ecstatic!  All the time, God is good.

About ladypreacheratwork

For more information about me and my ministry in Thailand, please select the 'About' tab in the header above.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Unexpected Challenge

  1. Donna Bowling says:

    I am glad you are okay! Maybe you should walk with a shotgun.:-) Shalom, friend. Praying here for you and your mom.

Leave a Reply

