Happily Ever After in Korea

The Dance of Planes at Incheon Airport

The Dance of Planes at Incheon Airport

I am on the road again and, once again, I had a layover at Incheon Airport in Seoul, Korea. This airport has been rated the #1 airport in the world for eight consecutive years. I blogged about this airport when I went through it on my way to the USA in March. I could not believe how wonderful it was. This time, I had a twelve-hour layover and my curiosity questioned whether I would think it was so heavenly again the second time around.

Side-by-Side Toilets for Families

Side-by-Side Toilets for Families

Oh, I found some flaws this time:  There was only one empty recliner in the TV-News watching lounge.  When I sat in that recliner, it immediately flipped over until I was lying with my head on the floor and my feet in the air. The wonderful man who rescued me from that predicament suggested that I could post a video of my antics on You-Tube, but there was no one else in the room who was conscious enough to capture in on video (for which I was very grateful). I also found an empty seat in the Internet lounge, only to discover that the computer at that station was not working. But I was again enchanted when I discovered these side-by-side toilets in a “Family Restroom” in the airport. There was also a diaper changing table if the family had a younger member.

Bride and Groom on Display at Incheon Airport

Bride and Groom on Display at Incheon Airport

The best part of my layover in Incheon (besides seeing Brice Rogers and getting caught up on ten years of living without taking a single photograph of the occasion) was this exhibit of a Korean wedding. Besides these life-sized mannequins dressed as the bride and groom, there were actual palanquins for the bride and the groom (see thumbnails below), examples of gifts exchanged between family members, and other objects typically found in a Korean home in the 1800’s.  It was wonderful to see the craftsmanship that went into each item, whether it was the carved wood on the palanquins or the embroidery on the clothing.

Mt. Ranier

Mt. Ranier

I was lucky! Later in the morning, I did find an empty recliner and, this time, it did not turn over on me (see thumbnail below).  I was able to get at least three house of sleep and that helped so much with my “adjustment” to time in Seattle.  As  our Korean Airlines flight flew into Seattle, I noticed that the skies above Seattle were clear and rain-free. That gave me the opportunity to capture this almost surreal photograph of Mt. Ranier from the plane. Now, I am catching up on the latest news in the USA and hugging my Nellie, whom I have not seen since I left her with my sister back in March.  God is good!

More photos (double-click to enlarge):

Groom and Palanquin

Groom and Palanquin

Bride's Palanquin

Bride’s Palanquin

A Beautiful Dress on Display

A Beautiful Dress

The Royal Family from Another Era

The Royal Family

Enjoying a Recliner

Enjoying a Recliner

About ladypreacheratwork

For more information about me and my ministry in Thailand, please select the 'About' tab in the header above.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

